the first and the last

My AAP (Australian Associated Press) journalist friend in Jakarta asked me to help taking a photo on the 1st anniversary of Sunami in Phuket in 2005. I happily agreed. I sold to the AAP 8 photos and 4 to the Press, New Zealand one of which was printed on the front page. It was a photo of a man with a great loss and fathomless grief in his eyes. Some said I did pretty good considering it was my first time.

I remember saying to myself (intended for those whom the photos were taken) “I am sorry” at every click.

I love photography.

But – I had made an exception for this one. It was my very first and the only time as a news photographer. It is definitely not for me.

©2012TH

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

